Thursday, April 3, 2014

We're Moving!

Reviews For You will be moving! You can find more great reviews from me over at www.thatgeekygirl.com! 

post signature

Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Zest Tea Review + Giveaway


It's that time of year again, the weather is getting hotter here in the south, and I'm going to start craving tea. Just like I do every year. Here in the south, summer means it's time to break out with the sweet iced tea. I can drink a couple of gallons of tea a day when it's warm. It's my drink of choice. 

Although sweet tea is delightful, I also like to try other kinds of tea. Yes, I can drink hot tea even if it's a hundred degrees outside. I may be hugging the air conditioner while doing so, but I'll guzzle the hot tea anyways. Over the past few years, I have grown fond of the Lipton teas. They have green tea, super fruit tea, and so many more. I love getting a box of green tea, brew it up, serve hot with a spoonful of organic honey. Now that is quite delicious!

Although Lipton has been my favorite for so long, I recently got turned on to some new tea. Zest Tea is a new brand of high octane tea. Each pyramid sachet has 140-150mg of caffeine. So, drop it down in a coffee cup of boiling water, and mix the sachet around with a spoon, then soon you'll have one potent cup of tea.

I received a tin of 20 sachets in Pomegranate Mojito Green tea flavor, 8 sachets of Earl Grey Black tea, and 8 sachets of Blue Lady Black tea. Oh, and two stickers, and a magnet.


I'll start with my personal favorite, Pomegranate Mojito Green Tea. This contains young hyson green tea, pomegranate, Mint, and lemon. Let's not forget, it contains lots of caffeine. Boy, is this yummy. It starts you off with a bitter, barely there taste, and the more you drink, the more the flavors start to erupt. The pomegranate is there enough to give it a nice tang. The green tea is not really all that noticeable to me at first. When you get to the last drink or two, it's nice and strong. I am not a fan of mint, at all. I have never liked it. This is one time that I have loved the taste of it. It and the lemon kicks into high gear when you get half way done with the cup. This is great for when you're about to leave for work, or just arrived at work, and need a swift kick in the butt to get you going. This is a get-you-going tea. You can get 20 sachets in a tin like I received for just $11.98.

Next, the Earl Grey Black Tea. This tea contains south indian flower orange pekoe black tea, bergamot flavor, and again, it's juiced up with caffeine. This is a very subtle tea. It's light tasting, so not very wild. I admired the flavor, as for me, it was a little calming in my hectic day. Which at the rate that I'm going, if I drink a glass every hectic day, I'll be out very, very soon. It taste very calming, and some might think, hey, if it taste calming, it might be calming altogether. No, that would be wrong. It will relax you, and keep you rather chill, but at the same time, you are so wide awake, you can't stand it. This would be nice for a day at home, reading, or something along those lines. You can get 20 sachets in a tin for $11.98, or you can purchase any of their teas without the tin, for a cheaper price. This one is only $9.49 without the tin.

Lastly, the Blue Lady Black Tea. This wild tea contains south indian flower orange pekoe black tea, cornflower petals, hibiscus flowers c/s, orange peel, juicy lemon, orange and passion fruit flavor, and yeah, you guessed it right, more caffeine. This tea, it's amazing. The fragrance when you smell it is so heavenly, and sweet. I seriously need some air freshener for my home, and my vehicle that smells like this tea. Yes, it's that delightfully scented. This is a party in a pouch, a small pouch. Yeah, big flavor packed in a small pouch. That's it. It is smooth, but has a tangy punch all at once. I loved this one. The pouches are so colorful once they are descended into your cup of hot water, it's quite beautiful. You see bits of orange, blue, and something looks purplish. This is for when your extremely tired, and your ready to get up and go. The flavors will make your eyes pop open, and the caffeine keeps them open, for quite a while. I made the mistake of drinking two cups before bed. I didn't go to bed until three in the morning. It kind of done me a favor, because I was wide awake with my screaming son, who wasn't ready for bed just yet. You can get a tin of this for $12.25 (yes, it's 20 sachets, also).

Another thing I love about Zest Tea, there is no ingredients left in the bottom of your cup, floating around your tea. The sachets are high quality, so all the tea stays in the sachet, and out of your delicious cup of get up and go juice!

Looks delicious doesn't it? Why not enter to win TWO tins of the flavor of your choice?!


-Disclaimer: I was sent this product for review purposes, and did not receive any monetary compensation for this post. All opinions are my own. The giveaway item was donated by the company.
post signature

Thursday, March 27, 2014

My Canine Kids INC Precision Fit Dog Harness Review + Giveaway

While in my adventures of playing dog trainer with Nyla, I found out real fast, she hates leashes. Besides the fact that she wasn't trained to walk on a leash yet, I think she was kind of scared of it. She would sit or lay down, and refuse to walk at all. Nothing would convince her that it was okay to walk, and that we wasn't going to hurt her, not even treats. 

We found an amazingly simple way for her to finally get trained to walk on a leash, and it's a way that doesn't discourage her like a collar did. When I found the My Canine Kids INC Precision Fit harness, I had to give it a go with our fur baby. 

Let's start off with this, it's a step in harness, therefore it's so simple getting her in it. There's a military grade velcro strip on the back, so once your dog steps in, you can secure it on their back. When trying to get a leash clipped on her collar, she would twist in a circle really fast, which led to us getting our fingers pinched in her collar. With the Precision Fit harness, she just sat there while I put it on her. I got a medium for her, as I thought that would fit her nicely, but with her still working on gaining back her weight, it's a little loose on her. Thankfully, it is adjustable on both side straps, so she can fit it now, and will continue to be able to do so for a while, hopefully.


This harness is made of mesh, so it's a light, breathable material that's great for outdoor activity.

While our Nyla may be well behaved, for the most part, what if something happens, and the leash clasp breaks while walking, and our puppy runs off into the streets? Well, considering we walk late in the evening, it's normally getting pretty dark when we are done. Thank goodness for this lovely feature, the harness has a reflective nylon trim, so if she gets in the streets, at least I know people will see her if she gets out in front of their vehicles. Considering she is black and white, she would be quite hard to spot at night. 

I put the leash on the harness, and it seemed to help immediately. While still rather iffy on whether she wanted to walk, with a slight tug, she was walking right next to me, and when I let her, she would run back and forth trying to play. I have so much faith in this harness, as it give her the confidence to walk on a leash. Even if she pulls, I don't have to worry about it choking her like a collar would. She was extremely comfortable with finally enjoying a stroll around the yard. While I will continue to work with her on her walking etiquette, I think this has already made itself worth the price. My Canine Kids INC has one great product, and I think every dog owner should give it a try! The Precision Fit harness is made in five sizes, so they fit dogs from 4 pounds all the way up to 50 pounds. Also, there's double rings for the leash, one on each of the side straps, so when they meet in the middle, it's secured.

You can buy one of these harnesses from Republic of Paws for just $40, or you can enter to win the same mesh harness I received, in the size you need, and the color you want!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

-Disclaimer: I was sent this product for review purposes, and did not receive any monetary compensation for this post. All opinions are my own. The giveaway item was donated by the company.

Monday, March 24, 2014

Zuke's Lil' Links Dog Treats Review + Giveaway

In addition to welcoming my son into our family almost a month ago, we now have another addition, Nyla. We was looking online for a free dog, preferably mine and my husband's favorite breed, a pitbull. We didn't come across any free ones, so we was willing to pay for one. We came across Nyla's picture, and decided we wanted her. When we met her previous owners to get her, she was extremely skinny. Her ribs, spine, and hip bones were poking out where she wasn't being taken care of. I couldn't leave her, so even with her being in such bad condition, we paid for her, just so she could have a chance at a real life, filled with love, and appreciation. Two things she wasn't getting from her previous owners.
Here is Nyla.

Pretty, isn't she? We got her home, let her get used to things, started feeding her twice a day to get her weight back on her, and decided we was going to start training her. With us planning on letting our son grow up with her, she needs to be trained so she's not tempted to jump on him while he's small.

We are using Zuke's Lil' Links to train her. Nyla loves them, especially their Rabbit & Apple flavor. 



Zuke's Lil' Links have three flavors they come in, Chicken & Apple, Rabbit & Apple, and Pork & Apple. They are soft sausage dog treats, therefore any dog should be able to eat them. These treats are very healthy for your dog, as they have no added animal fat, and no artificial colors or flavors. They are grain free, which means if your dog is one of those dogs that are sensitive to grain, and requires a grain free, or limited grain diet, they can happily enjoy Lil' Links. They consist of real meat, apples, potatoes, carrots, and antioxidant rich herbs. These are so tempting, they are great for training classes or vet visits. 

We started out using the Chicken & Apple recipe with Nyla's training. She started picking up how to sit with these, but wasn't too motivated by this flavor to really pay attention. She's a bit of a piggy, and I was shocked that she didn't want to eat many of them. But, when I give them to our chihuahua, Pinky, she loved them, although because she's only like a pound or two in weight, I have to crumble it up for her. Pinky approves, but Nyla is iffy on this one.

We worked our way to the Rabbit & Apple recipe to keep working on sitting, and to teach her shake. This was her favorite, as she paid attention, and was a determined little puppy to learn. With the help of this flavor, Nyla accomplished her training in sitting on command. She is still working on shake, but is learning very quickly, as like I mentioned before, she is highly motivated. She sits when told to, after being told just once or twice, which is great as far as making progress goes. I think the game-y flavor of the rabbit catches her senses big time.

The Pork & Apple is being used to teach stay, and was used to teach give me your paw. She loved these as well. Give me your paw was a big success, as she picked up on this really fast with the help of these treats. Now, teaching her stay is proving to be a little more difficult, as she wants to come get the treat instead of waiting on it. I think since she likes the Chicken & Apple, but isn't so determined to get it, but will eat it if you offer it to her, I'm going to use it to do stay with, and maybe it will work.

These are great for training purposes, but then again, if your dog is picky, they may not be as effective for you as they are being for me. I love how they have all real, and healthy ingredients. Considering the shape Nyla was in when we got her, she definitely needs nothing, but healthy foods and treats. These high quality treats are only $7.99 a bag on their website.

Have a cat? Yes, Zuke's has two lines of cat treats as well, so you can treat your cat to all the healthy deliciousness dogs can get, too! 

Want to win a bag? How about three? Yes, you can win the same three bags that I reviewed! Enter below to try to win.


-Disclaimer: I was sent this product for review purposes, and did not receive any monetary compensation for this post. All opinions are my own. The giveaway item was donated by the company.


Thursday, March 20, 2014

Thomas & Friends: Trouble On The Tracks DVD Giveaway



Cinders and ashes…there's trouble on the tracks for Thomas and his friends! The Troublesome Trucks delight in causing chaos for Thomas, as Annie, Clarabel and Toad encounter unexpected high-speed adventures. Oily Diesel gives Paxton a fright, while Salty's spooky story has the engines running scared. All Aboard for fun and exciting escapades with Thomas & Friends!


Episodes Include:
·        “Thomas the Quarry Engine”
·        “Not So Slow Coaches”
·        “Flatbeds of Fear”
·        “Disappearing Diesels”
·        “Toad’s Adventure”

DVD BONUS FEATURES
·        The Earl's Quiz
·        Guess Who? Puzzles

This DVD has 57 minutes of video, and is for children ages 2-5, or can be used for family movie/tv night. 

Thomas & Friends: Trouble On The Tracks will release on DVD April 8, 2014. Don't want to wait to get it? Enter to win here!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

-Disclaimer: The giveaway item was donated by the company.

Monday, March 10, 2014

Printcopia Review + Giveaway

Decorating a room, it's not one of my strong suits. I am never happy with how I decorate a room. Well, I'm happy with it for about a day, then I'm ready to redecorate. I am normally a pretty creative person, so I'd think putting together designs, and decorations for a room would be no problem. Yet, that's not the case, as it's a very difficult task for me. 
While I was pregnant, me and my husband decided that the theme for our son's nursery items would be owls. I quickly found out that most places only had pink owl decorations for girls. I had a hard time finding little boy owl stuff, but when I came across something that I could use, I made sure I got it.

I wanted an owl design on the wall, and found the perfect place for what I was looking for was Printcopia. At Printcopia, you can get anything from a canvas to an awesome or adorable wall decal. I found a wonderful Owl On A Branch wall decal, and got it. 


My picture isn't the best, but it is perfect! When you order a wall decal, it comes with this little scraper so you can apply it to the wall without air bubbles in it. I love this, because the three owls represent me, my husband, and our son. The decal was super easy to apply, but you have to be careful not to accidentally let the paper it's on bunch up, because my husband did. It was incredibly sticky, and did not want to come loose. 

Printcopia has a wide variety of decals for any room in your home. Their prices are incredible, for the size, and quality of their decals. This small owl decal is only $31.50, but for an increase price you can get a medium or large decal. This small one measures 15" high, and 21" wide, which is a pretty good size to be a small. 

Want one of your own? Enter to win a $50 gift code to Printcopia below!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

-Disclaimer: I was sent this product for review purposes, and did not receive any monetary compensation for this post. All opinions are my own. The giveaway item was donated by the company.

Johnson's Baby Products *Review*

One thing I have always seemed to have a problem with is dry, itchy skin. I have used so many products that claimed to help with my skin issues, but I come to find out, they didn't help a bit. 
My skin being dry is one thing, but I come to find that my newborns skin stays dry, and peeling. It's worse on his belly, the top of his arms, and his thighs. His poor hands, and feet suffer from some extreme drying, and cracking. Honestly, it looks like he's got the skin of an older person. 
The only products that I have found to work is Johnson's Baby Oil, Baby Oil Gel, Baby Powder, and their amazing new Johnson's Intense Moisture Cream. 

We will go from left to right in the picture.

Johnson's Baby Oil Gel, all the benefits of baby oil, in a gel form. I often find baby oil to be quite messy. I used this on my legs when I got out of the shower, as the hot water tends to leave my skin red, dry, and very itchy. It gets so bad that if pants touch my legs, it burns. This helped so much, it wasn't as slick, and messy like regular baby oil often is. It is shea and cocoa butter, so the fragrance is amazing. I used it on my son, and he doesn't like stuff to be rubbed on him, but he stayed still, and his skin looked, and felt great afterwards. This is a great product.

Johnson's Baby Powder, perfect for helping ease irritation from diapers. Some of our diapers we have leave my sons legs irritated, and is starting to make them raw. I applied some diaper rash cream to the irritated spots, sprinkled some baby powder on top, and it makes the perfect combination. He wasn't being rubbed anymore, and he wasn't as fussy as a result. I love this product, and will continue to keep it around for diaper emergencies. Also, the smell is heavenly, and the texture is delightful.

Johnson's Baby Oil, perfect for dry skin. This baby oil leaves your skin soft, and moist. Although, I personally find it a little too messy, others may not mind. I had a hard time with this on my son. His skin was too oily, and he didn't like it. I also found it harder to pick him up, as he was quite slippery. For moms, if you want to tan, I have seen my cousins use this to tan with. Just apply to your skin, put down a towel in the yard, or on the pool deck, and lay in the sun. Baby oil magnifies the suns tanning capabilities, and either you'll tan fast, or if you're like me, you're going to be red, and crispy in a matter of ten to fifteen minutes.

Finally, the new Johnson's Intense Moisture Cream. I love this lotion, for both me, and my little man. After getting my epidural, the tape left extremely dry spots on my back, and nothing would help with the dryness. I used this lotion one time, and experienced a great amount of difference. It relieved the burning, and itching, while leaving my back silky smooth. This was also perfect for my little man, as his hands, and feet are having a hard time staying moisturized. He has extreme dry spots between his fingers, and on top of his feet. This lotion soothes his skin, leaving it in perfect condition for hours at a time. 

Johnson's Baby products have great benefits for both baby, and mom. I suggest this to everyone, as you'll most likely be satisfied with the results.

-Disclaimer: I was sent these products for review purposes, and did not receive any monetary compensation for this post. All opinions are my own.